# **CITY OF ROCKY RIVER**

## **January 3, 2022**

The meeting of the Committee-of-the-Whole was called to order by Mr. Moran at 6:30 p.m. followed by the administering of the Oaths of Office to Councilmembers At-Large David W. Furry, Brian J. Sindelar and Helen Christina Morris and Ward Councilmembers Thomas J. Hunt, James W. Moran and John B. Shepherd. The ceremonial Oaths of Office were administered by the Honorable Judge Brendan J. Sheehan. Reverend Daniel F. Bogre of Rocky River United Methodist Church, Rocky River, OH presented the Invocation and Benediction.

The meeting was opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Council Members Present: Mr. Hunt, Mr. Shepherd, Mr. Furry, Mrs. Morris, Mr. Sindelar, Mr. Moran

Absent: Mrs. Gallagher

Mr. Moran called for nominations for President of Council. Mr. Furry nominated Mr. Moran as President of Council for the next two years. Mr. Sindelar seconded the nomination. Mr. Moran accepted and as there were no further nominations, the vote was taken.

Vote:	Hunt – aye	Shepherd – aye	Furry - aye	
	Morris – aye	Sindelar – aye	Moran - aye	
	6 ayes		0 nays	PASSED

President Moran then called for nominations for President Pro-Tem of Council. Mr. Shepherd nominated Mr. Hunt as President Pro-Tem of Council for the next two years. Mr. Sindelar seconded the nomination. Mr. Hunt accepted and as there were no further nominations, the vote was taken.

Vote:	Hunt – aye	Shepherd – aye	Furry - aye	
	Morris – aye	Sindelar – aye	Moran - aye	
	6 ayes		0 nays	PASSED

#### **MAYOR'S REPORT: NONE**

Mr. Moran stated that the administration is looking forward to the time the COVID numbers start to decline, but 2021 was a great year for the city. Rocky River was nominated as the #1 Community in 2021 which makes residents proud to live here and continue to enjoy all that Rocky River has to offer. The financial position of the city is stronger now than in years past and residents are investing in the city.

Mr. Moran thanked City Council for appointing him President. This will be President Moran's 9<sup>th</sup> term, 18<sup>th</sup> year on Council and 16<sup>th</sup> year as President of Council. President Moran promises to continue to communicate and support City Council and to continue to make this the best community in Ohio. President Moran appreciates the trust Council has in him.

President Moran then presented the Standing Committees for 2022:

Mr. Moran thanked Mr. Hunt for his legal eye and involvement in the past with the safety forces and thanked him for his 16 years on Council. President Moran asked Mr. Hunt to Chair the Safety Committee.

<u>Safety</u> Thomas Hunt, Chair Brian Sindelar Jeanne Gallagher James Moran

Mr. Moran thanked Mr. Shepherd for his legal background in reviewing contracts, both governmental and judicial. Mr. Shepherd's 14 years on Council and his experience in this key position has been extremely valuable. President Moran asked Mr. Shepherd to Chair the Contracts Committee.

## **Contracts – Government and Judicial**

John Shepherd, Chair Thomas Hunt Jeanne Gallagher Christina Morris

Mr. Moran stated that Mr. Furry has served 14 years on City Council as well as being a life-long member of the Community. President Moran asked Mr. Furry to Chair the Parks, Recreation and Health Committee.

## Parks, Recreation and Health

David Furry, Chair Tom Hunt John Shepherd James Moran

Mr. Moran thanked Mrs. Morris for her role as Chair of the Planning, Zoning and Economic Development Committee. President Moran asked Mrs. Morris to Chair the Environmental Committee.

#### **Environmental**

Christina Morris, Chair David Furry Jeanne Gallagher Brian Sindelar

Mr. Moran thanked Mr. Sindelar for his legal background in years past. President Moran asked Mr. Sindelar to Chair the Buildings, Equipment and Technology Committee.

#### **Buildings, Equipment and Technology**

Brian Sindelar, Chair John Shepherd David Furry Christina Morris

Mr. Moran welcomed Mrs. Gallagher to City Council. President Moran asked Mrs. Gallagher to Chair the Planning, Zoning and Economic Development Committee.

## Planning, Zoning and Economic Development

Jeanne Gallagher, Chair Christina Morris Brian Sindelar James Moran

Mr. Moran stated that he would take the responsibility to Chair the Finance Committee.

Finance James Moran, Chair Thomas Hunt David Furry John Shepherd

## **COMMUNICATION & ANNOUNCEMENTS: NONE**

#### **UNFINISHED BUSINESS:**

**ORDINANCE NO. 71-21:** Mrs. Morris said that this ordinance is on hold as it has been referred to the Planning Commission.

**ORDINANCE NO. 105-21:** Mr. Moran said this is a rezoning change from an R6 and R4 to an R5. This has also been referred to the Planning Commission and is regarding the Hilliard Road Project next to the Hilroc.

#### **NEW BUSINESS: NONE**

#### **MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS: NONE**

As there was no further business by members of Council, the meeting was adjourned at 6:52 p.m. The next meeting will be on January 10, 2022, beginning at 7:00 p.m.

James W. Moran President of Council Susan G. Pease Clerk of Council